Every state has its own mandated minimum insurance coverage for drivers and North Dakota is no exception. The mandatory coverage is to protect you and others on the road in the event of an accident. Failure to carry the requisite auto insurance in North Dakota can result in legal penalties. Proof of insurance must be presented to law enforcement officers upon request.
So, when you do not carry the required insurance coverage in North Dakota, you risk civil penalties, but you are also risking much more. Insurance benefits provide significant financial assistance in the event that you cause or are injured in an accident caused by someone else.
Motorists: Here’s What You Need to Know About North Dakota Insurance Coverage
In terms of liability coverage, North Dakota requires motorists to carry bodily injury coverage in the amount of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident. Additionally, motorists must carry property damage coverage in the amount of $25,000 per accident. This liability coverage will pay for bodily injury and pain and suffering damages as well as lost wages and property damage should you harm another driver or their passengers in an accident you cause. Liability coverage will never pay out for injuries, property damage, or other harm you may suffer in an accident you yourself cause.
North Dakota also requires motorists to carry both uninsured motorist and underinsured motorist coverage. Coverage amounts must be a minimum of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident. This type of coverage will pay for injuries and other expenses, such as lost wages, that you or your passengers suffer in an accident caused by an uninsured or underinsured driver.
It is also important to note that North Dakota is a no-fault state and, thus, requires motorists to carry no-fault insurance. No-fault insurance is known as personal injury protection (PIP) coverage and North Dakota requires all drivers to carry PIP at a minimum of $30,000 per person. PIP coverage provides coverage for medical expenses if you or your passengers were injured in an accident. As the name suggests, this no-fault coverage applies regardless of who is at fault for causing an accident. PIP coverage will pay for medical expenses that include things like hospital bills and rehabilitation costs. It will also provide coverage for things like lost wages stemming from the accident. While $30,000 per person is the minimum mandated coverage, motorists are welcome to get a policy with higher limits.
When compared to other states, North Dakota’s required insurance coverage is fairly strong. The mandated minimum coverage, however, remains much lower than many would recommend when you consider the level of expenses that can be incurred should you cause or be involved in an accident caused by someone else. With low insurance limits, you risk being held personally liable for the damages incurred by someone else in an accident you cause. This risk becomes more pronounced should you have significant assets and holdings they could go after.
North Dakota Personal Injury Attorneys
You may have never paid much attention to insurance coverage, then an accident happens. If you have been involved in an accident, insurance coverage becomes a central issue. The team at Pringle & Herigstad will explore every possible avenue for you to recover the compensation you deserve following an accident. Contact us today.