Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Share on LinkedIn

Your spine is comprised of five different sections. While you can suffer severe harm to your coccyx (tailbone), the four sections above have some of the most damaging impacts on your life whenever you suffer an injury at these levels. Below, we’ll detail the four main parts of your spine where injuries can arise and what the long-term effects are.

Cervical Spine Injuries

The cervical section of your spine is the uppermost level near your neck. If you suffer a cervical spine injury, you may suffer some serious injuries. Cervical spine injuries often result in quadriplegia, which is paralysis in all four limbs (arms and legs).

Thoracic Spine Injuries

A thoracic spine injury can be severe, leading to paraplegia. This type of paralysis impacts the limbs beneath the injury location (typically your pelvic area and legs). You may still retain functionality in your arms and hands with this type of injury.

Lumbar Spine Injuries

The lumbar spine is your lower back. While an injury at this section can cause paraplegia, it most often leads to hip and groin functionality problems. A lumbar spine injury may impact your ability to walk without using specialized equipment.

Sacrum Spine Injuries

A sacrum spine injury can lead to bowel and bladder control issues, as well as problems with your groin and hips. You may still be able to walk, but you may need assistance. These are still severe injuries, and you must protect your rights to obtain compensation.

At Pringle & Herigstad, P.C., we have spent years protecting the injured. Our North Dakota spine injury lawyers stand in your corner through the entire legal process. You should be able to focus on your recovery. We’ll handle the legal matters on your behalf. We give you a voice against negligence, protecting you from the negligent party and their insurance company.

Contact us today at (855) 245-5100 to schedule your free consultation.